Deletion, removal and retention of information

Refer to the appropriate section below for instructions on how to remove information associated with your account.

Account

We hate to see you go, but if you need to cancel your membership, visit netflix.com/cancelplan.

It is our standard practice to automatically delete Netflix accounts that remain cancelled for more than 10 months. To request the earlier deletion of your cancelled Netflix account, please contact privacy@netflix.com from the email address associated with the account. (Note: including the email address in the body of a request sent from a different email address does not suffice for these purposes.)

If you wish to have your Netflix account deleted and you are a:

Current Netflix member

  • Cancel your membership by visiting netflix.com/cancelplan.

    Note:
    If you signed up for our service through iTunes or Google Play, you need to contact them to cancel your Netflix subscription. We can only delete your account once your membership cancellation through the provider takes effect at the end of your current billing period. You can find that date by visiting the Billing Details page.
  • After cancelling, contact privacy@netflix.com to request deletion of your Netflix account.

  • if you cancel your account before your current billing period expires, we will delete your account at the end of the period, unless you expressly request earlier deletion.

Former Netflix member

Customer who started but did not complete sign up

Refer to the sections below for information about removing or deleting specific information on your account, and for information about our data retention practices.

Account profiles

To remove a profile from your account:

  1. Sign in to your Account from a web or mobile browser.

  2. Select Manage Profiles from the My Profile section.

  3. Select the edit icon on the profile you want to delete and press the Delete profile button.

Once you remove a profile, the viewing history for that profile is deleted.

The main profile on your Netflix account cannot be removed. You can refer to information about how to hide viewing history.

Payment methods

Phone number

If you no longer wish to receive any text messages from us (including for password reset purposes), you may remove your phone number as follows:

  1. Sign in to your Account from a web or mobile browser.

  2. Select Change phone number from the Membership & Billing section.

  3. Select the Delete phone number button.

Email address

An email address is required on your Netflix account so that we may communicate with you regarding your membership.

If your email address is associated with a Netflix account that you did not create and you wish to have your email address removed from the account, please contact privacy@netflix.com for assistance.

Data retention

We retain limited non-personally identifying information following account deletion for lawful reasons, including fraud prevention, accounting purposes, and enforcing our Terms of Use. This includes device identifier, an email address associated with the account, and hashes of your payment details. “Hashing” means that we can “match” your payment method (or email) if it is reintroduced to our systems - but we cannot use the information to contact you or charge your payment method.

If you have removed a payment method, but have not deleted your account, we retain a hash of the payment details for the reasons stated above. If you change your email address, we retain a hash of the prior email address for security purposes to allow you to validate that it was previously associated with the account.

See our Privacy and Security help page for information on more topics.