Sharing your Netflix account

A Netflix account is for people who live together in a single household.

Sharing Netflix with someone who doesn’t live with you

People who do not live in your household will need to use their own account to watch Netflix.

It's easy to sign up for Netflix and we offer a variety of plans. As always, members can change plans or cancel at any time.

When a device outside of your household signs in to an account or is used persistently, we may ask you to verify that device before it can be used to watch Netflix or switch your Netflix household. We do this to confirm that the device using the account is authorized to do so. See “Verifying a device” below for details.

Netflix will not automatically charge you if you share your account with someone who doesn’t live with you.

Verifying a device

When someone signs into your account from a device that is not associated with your Netflix household, or if your account is accessed persistently from a location outside of your household, we may ask you to verify that device before it can be used to watch Netflix. We do this to confirm that the device using the account is authorized to do so.

To verify a device:

  1. Netflix sends a link to the email address or phone number associated with the primary account owner.

  2. The link opens a page with a 4-digit verification code.

  3. The code needs to be entered on the device that requested it within 15 minutes.

    • If the code expired, you will need to request a new verification code from the device.

  4. Once successful, that device can be used to watch Netflix.

  5. Device verification may be required periodically.

If you suspect unauthorized use of your account, we recommend you reset your password immediately. You can also sign out of all the devices connected to it.

If you need help, please contact us.

Using Netflix while traveling or from a different location

If you are traveling or live between different homes, we want you to be able to enjoy Netflix anywhere, anytime. If you are the primary account owner (or live with them), you shouldn’t need to verify your device to watch Netflix.

If you are away from the Netflix household for an extended period of time, you may be occasionally asked to verify your device. We ask you to verify to make sure that the device using the account is authorized to do so. Verifying a device is quick and easy. See “Verifying a device” above for details.

Turning off device verification

As long as the device being used to watch Netflix is using the internet connection in the primary account owner's household, we will not require verification.

If a Netflix account is used by a device that is not associated with the primary account owner's household, the device will need to be verified before it can be used to watch Netflix. We do this to confirm that the device using the account is authorized to do so.

As a reminder, it's easy to sign up for Netflix and we offer a variety of plans. As always, members can change plans or cancel at any time.

How Netflix detects devices within a household

We use information such as IP addresses, device IDs, and account activity from devices signed into the Netflix account.

Number of people who can watch at the same time

Each plan determines how many devices can play Netflix at the same time, as long as those devices belong to people in the same household. Please refer to our plans and pricing for details.

Related Articles