What is a Netflix household?

A Netflix account is for people who live together in a single household. This single household is the Netflix household and is associated with the primary account owner’s devices and the devices used by other people who live in the Netflix household. 

Learn more about sharing your Netflix.

How Netflix detects devices within a household

We use information such as IP addresses, device IDs, and account activity.

Change a Netflix household

Each Netflix account can only be associated with 1 household.

The Netflix household can be changed during the device verification process. When a verification code is requested, you'll get an email or text message with a link. Click on the link and follow the instructions on the page that opens to change your Netflix household.

If the Netflix household is changed to match the device that requested the verification code, all devices that were associated with the previous Netflix household will now need to be verified before they can be used to watch Netflix. These devices will not be automatically signed out of the Netflix account.

Learn more about device verification when sharing your Netflix.

Sign out of a device or all devices

If you would like to sign out of a device that requested a verification code, you can do so during device verification by choosing not to change your household and then selecting the option to sign out of the device.

Please confirm the details of the device such as name, location, and the profile that was last used on that device. Once you sign out of that device, the person using that device will need to sign in to your Netflix account again or sign in to a different Netflix account to watch Netflix.

You can also sign out of all the devices connected to your account.

If you suspect unauthorized use of your account, we recommend you reset your password immediately.

Related Articles