Using Netflix with a DIRECTV Package

A Netflix membership can be added to any eligible DIRECTV package.

Once you've signed up, activate to link your new or existing Netflix account.

How do I activate Netflix?

Choose an option below for steps to link your Netflix account.

Link via activation link

Once you've signed up for an eligible package, you will receive an email/SMS that contains an activation link.

  1. Click the link to be directed to the Netflix website.

  2. Follow the prompts to link your existing Netflix account to your DIRECTV package, or create a new Netflix account and link to your package.

Link via partner website

Once you've signed up for an eligible package, follow these steps:

  1. Click the link or sign in directly to the DIRECTV website.

    Note:
    If you do not know your DIRECTV login, please contact DIRECTV for assistance.
  2. Select Account Overview > Manage my TV Package.

  3. Scroll down to Add-ons and offers, then find Netflix and select Account Management > Go to Netflix.

  4. Follow the prompts to link your existing Netflix account to your DIRECTV package, or create a new Netflix account and link to your package.

If you accidentally linked the wrong account, refer to "I accidentally linked the wrong Netflix account to my package" below.

If you previously paid through Apple and have linked your account to a partner package since October 25, 2021, you must also cancel your subscription through Apple. If you do not, you may continue to be charged by Apple.

How can I check if Netflix is included in or added to my package?

Please contact your provider to see if Netflix is included in or was added to your package.

I accidentally linked the wrong Netflix account to my package

Please contact customer service and provide the email address for the Netflix account that is incorrectly linked so that we can help you link the correct Netflix account to your package.

What will happen to my Netflix account if I cancel my package or service?

If you cancel your Netflix package add-on, or you cancel your partner service completely, your Netflix account will be cancelled. If you have a credit balance, it will be consumed before your account is cancelled.

If you pause your DirecTV service, your Netflix account will be cancelled. Once you unpause your DirecTV service, you must re-activate to re-link your account.

How do I change my Netflix plan?

The option to change your Netflix plan depends on your package.

  • Go to netflix.com/account to check if you are eligible, then choose an available plan. 

    • You can change to any Netflix plan offered by your provider (contact provider for available plans).

    • Plan changes take effect immediately.

    • The new plan price (determined by your provider) will apply to your next bill.

  • If you don't see the option to change your plan, contact your provider to check eligibility.

Note:
You must wait 12 hours after changing your plan to make additional plan changes. Plan change eligibility is determined by your provider.

Can I activate my package if I have extra members?

If you are the account owner with extra member slots and you want to change your payment method to a partner package, you can link your account as instructed by Netflix and your provider. However, we will cancel your extra member(s) immediately once activation is complete and the extra member(s) will receive an email confirmation.


If you are an extra member, you can create your own account and link to a partner package as instructed by Netflix and your provider. Make sure you use the same email address you use for your extra member account to retain your viewing history and settings. Once complete, we will notify the account owner that you have been removed as an extra member from their account.

What happens to my Netflix gift card or promotional balance when I link my account to this package?


Once you link your account to this package, your gift balance will be held on your Netflix account for future use. If you decide to cancel your package, we will continue to bill your gift card or promotional balance.

Why am I still being charged on my previous payment method?

If you have Netflix as part of a package, you must link your existing Netflix account to stop being charged on your previous payment method.

  • If you haven’t linked your account, follow the steps above under “How do I activate Netflix?”.

  • If you linked your account, you may have linked to a different Netflix account or mistyped your email and accidentally created a duplicate account. To resolve this, follow the steps under “I accidentally linked the wrong Netflix account to my package”.

As of October 25, 2021, if you previously paid through Apple and have linked your account to a package with Netflix, you must cancel your Netflix subscription through Apple to avoid future charges from Apple.

I'm having trouble signing in to Netflix

If you don’t remember your Netflix login information, go to netflix.com/loginhelp.

If you see the message “No account found for this email address,” it's possible that you accidentally mistyped your email while linking your account. To resolve this, try the following:

  • If you are signed in to Netflix on a mobile or web browser:

    1. Go to your Account.

    2. Your Netflix account email is displayed under Membership & Billing.

      • From here you can Change account email, if necessary.

  • If you still can't sign in:

    1. Sign in to your DIRECTV account (make sure you are signed out of Netflix).

      Note:
      If you do not know your DIRECTV login, please contact DIRECTV for assistance.
    2. Select Select Account Overview > Manage my TV Package.

    3. Scroll down to Add-ons and offers, then find Netflix and select Account Management > Go to Netflix.

    4. You will be directed to a sign in page with your email address pre-populated. You can sign in to your Netflix account from this page, and update your email address if necessary.

Why was my Netflix account canceled?

Your Netflix account may be canceled if:

  • you cancel or pause

    • a package that is linked to a Netflix account

    • a Netflix subscription that was added to your package

  • we did not receive payment from your service provider

If you did not request a cancellation and your service provider account is in good standing, try re-linking your Netflix account using the steps in "How do I activate my package with Netflix?". If those steps do not work, please contact your service provider to check your account status.

How do I cancel Netflix?

Please contact DIRECTV customer support to cancel your DIRECTV package or your Netflix subscription.

See "What happens to my Netflix account if I cancel my package?" for more information.

How do I contact DIRECTV customer support?

You can contact DIRECTV customer support by calling 877-769-0031 or visit directv.com/support for chat support. Be sure to tell the DIRECTV agent that you have Netflix through your DIRECTV package.

Related Articles