Profile transfers

Profile transfer enables the Netflix member and people using the member’s account to transfer a profile to a new account, an existing account, or an extra member slot  – including the recommendations, viewing history, My List, game saves, settings, and more. 

A profile can be transferred as long as it:

  • is on an active account

  • isn't a Kids profile

  • isn't PIN protected (if it has a PIN, remove it and then transfer)

  • doesn't have a profile email address attached to it

How to...

Turn profile transfers on or off

To transfer a profile from an account, you first need to Turn on profile transfers.

Note:
This setting controls whether profiles can be transferred from this account to a new account, an existing account, or an extra member slot. It does not affect whether a profile can be transferred into this account.

Turn on profile transfers

  1. Sign in to your account.

  2. Go to your Account page.

  3. In the Settings section, choose Turn on profile transfers.

  4. Choose Allow.

    • We’ll send you a confirmation email with the subject Account update: Profile transfers will be available soon.

  5. In the email, you can choose Enable Instantly.

    • If you don't choose Enable Instantly, profile transfer will be available automatically two days after you do step 4.

Turn on profile transfers when inviting an extra member

  1. Sign in to your account.

  2. Go to your Account page.

  3. Choose Buy an extra member in the Extra Members section.

  4. Follow the steps to add an extra member and invite someone to be your extra member.

  5. Choose Allow Profile Transfers on the page where you can create a new profile or choose to move an existing profile. 

    • We’ll send you a confirmation email titled Action needed to send your invitation.

  6. In the email choose Enable Instantly.

    • If you don't choose Enable Instantly, profile transfer will be available automatically two days after you do step 5. You'll need to invite your extra member again.

Turn off profile transfers

  1. Sign in to your account.

  2. Go to your Account page.

  3. In the Settings section, choose Turn off profile transfers.

Note:
Turning off profile transfers doesn’t affect profiles already transferred. You can turn on profile transfers again at any time from your Account page.

Start a new account with a profile transfer

If you'd like to transfer a profile to a new account, follow the steps below. If you’d like to use a partner package, package add-on, or third-party billing to pay for your account, please see the partner section later in this article before transferring a profile.

Note:
When transferring a profile to a new account, the profile will be copied (see “Information that will be transferred”), and will not be removed from the original account. When the transfer is done, you can delete the profile on the original account if you'd like.
  1. Using a web browser, sign into the account that has the profile you want to transfer to start a new account with.

  2. Visit the Account page.

  3. In the Profiles and Parental Controls section choose the profile you want to start a new account with.

  4. Choose Transfer.

  5. Choose Start Profile Transfer.

  6. Choose A New Account.

  7. Enter the email address and password you would like to use for the new account.

  8. Follow the prompts on the screen to finish setting up the account.

Once we’re done transferring the profile, you’ll be signed into the new account.

Transfer a profile to an existing account

If you'd like to transfer a profile to an existing account, follow the steps below. If you’d like to use a partner package, package add-on, or third-party billing to pay for your account, please see the partner section later in this article before transferring a profile.

Note:
When transferring a profile to a new account, the profile will be copied (see “Information that will be transferred”), and will not be removed from the original account. When the transfer is done, you can delete the profile on the original account if you'd like.

  1. Using a web browser, sign into the account that has the profile you want to transfer.

  2. Visit the Account page.

  3. In the Profiles and Parental Controls section choose the profile you want to transfer.

  4. Choose Transfer.

  5. Choose Start Profile Transfer.

  6. Choose An Existing Account.

  7. Enter the email and password for the existing account you’d like to transfer this profile to.

  8. Confirm by choosing Transfer Profile.

Once we’re done transferring the profile, you’ll be signed into the account you transferred the profile to.

Transfer a profile to an extra member

When buying an extra member slot, account owners can transfer an existing profile so the extra member can continue to use that profile, keeping that profile’s recommendations, viewing history, My List, game saves, settings, and more. See Extra Members for more details.

Information that will be transferred

What will be transferred

When transferring a profile to a new or existing account, the following will be copied to the new account.

When transferring to an Extra Member slot, the following will be moved to the Extra Member slot, and the profile will be removed from the original account.

  • Profile name and icon

  • Recommendations

  • Viewing history (ratings, duration, device information, country, “continue watching” information)

  • My List titles (watch list of titles)

  • Game saves and game handle

    Note:
    Game saves and game handle will be removed from the original profile.
  • Settings (settings for language, subtitles/dubbing, autoplay, maturity rating viewing restrictions)

  • Miscellaneous items (test participation selection/history (see Settings>Test Participation), stream quality, Netflix-generated in-app notifications sent to profile)


Payment information will not be transferred.

Deleting transferred profiles

After transferring a profile to a new or existing account, you can delete the profile in the original account on the Manage profiles screen (as long as it’s not the primary profile).

More about profile transfer

Transferring a profile to an account paid through a partner package, package add-on, or third-party billing

If you want the transferred profile to be the main profile on a new account:

  • Package/Package Add-on:

    • First, follow the steps in "Start a new account with a profile transfer" above. You’ll need to add another payment method during the profile transfer process. After the transfer is complete, change your payment method by linking the account to your partner package or package add-on.

  • Third-party Billing:

    • You’ll be unable to use profile transfer to create a new account billed through third-party billing and instead will have to add another payment method during the profile transfer process.

If you don’t want the transferred profile to be the main profile on a new account:

  • Create a new account with your preferred partner payment method and then follow the steps in "Transfer a profile to an existing account" above.

Duplicating a profile within an existing account

This feature cannot be used to duplicate a profile within the same account.

Finishing an incomplete transfer

If you started to transfer a profile to create a new account (entered an email address and created a password), you can continue at any time by logging into netflix.com using a web browser with the email address and password you used to start the process, and select Finish Transfer and then follow the prompts on screen.

Articoli correlati