Unrecognized charges from Netflix

If you see Netflix charges on your statement but don’t remember signing up, are seeing multiple charges, or thought you had canceled, here are some possible reasons.

You may have more than one Netflix account

You or someone with access to your account could have mistakenly opened another account by mistyping the email address or using a different email to sign in. If you think that this is the case, please contact us.

Someone may have used your payment method to start a Netflix account

At Netflix, we take fraud, identity theft, and other unauthorized activity seriously. If you never signed up for Netflix or suspect someone is using your payment information without your consent, please contact us immediately.

Your account may have been accidentally restarted

If your account was canceled but you’re still seeing a charge, it’s possible that you or someone with access to your account may have accidentally restarted it. 

 

Sign in to netflix.com and do the following:

  1. Cancel your account.

    • Go to netflix.com/cancelplan.

    • Select Finish Cancellation. Your account will close at the end of your current billing cycle, and you will not be charged again.

  2. Change your password to prevent future access to your account.

    • Go to netflix.com/password and change your password.

    • Make sure to check the box that says Require all devices to sign in again with new password. This will change your current password and sign out any devices where your account may still be signed in.

Your bank may have updated your credit or debit card information

Some banks automatically update credit or debit card information so that accounts using recurring payments remain in good standing when a new card is issued. In some cases, your bank may also allow recurring charges to continue on an expired card. If you have any concerns, please contact your bank.

You may have recently added a new payment method

If you recently signed up for Netflix, or you’re a member and changed your current payment method, you may see an authorization hold on your statement for roughly the same amount as your Netflix subscription.

Netflix does not collect this authorization amount, and the authorization will automatically be removed. Check with your financial institution to learn when you can expect them to release the funds back to your available balance.

You may have a Netflix Streaming and DVD account

If you have both a Netflix streaming and DVD account, you will see two separate charges from Netflix on your bill. These charges can be for different amounts depending on your streaming or DVD plan.

If you no longer wish to have both a streaming plan and a DVD plan, you can cancel either at any time. To cancel your streaming plan, select the Cancel Membership button on your Account page. To cancel your DVD plan, select cancel your DVD plan from your Account page.