Netflix says my account is already in use when I try to watch.

If you see any of the following messages:

Your Netflix account is in use on another device.

Too many people are using your account right now.

Sorry, too many people are using your account right now.

Your Netflix account is in use on too many devices.

Your Netflix account has reached the limit of active streams. There are two common causes for this:

Too many people are using the account

If you've shared your Netflix account with friends or family, they may be using Netflix while you're trying to watch. The number of account users that can stream at the same time will depend on your Netflix plan. You can see the limit for your account, as well as other plan options, on the Change Plan page.

Solution: Make sure that no one else is using your account before trying to stream again.

If you're not sure what other device was streaming, check out your recent streaming activity. (If your account has multiple profiles, make sure you check the viewing activity for each one). If you see anything you don't recognize, follow our steps for addressing Unrecognized Streaming Activity on Your Netflix Account.

Playback was suddenly interrupted

Netflix detects that playback has stopped when you finish a TV show or movie or press Stop on the Netflix player. If playback is interrupted by a connectivity or power failure while a title is still streaming, Netflix may not receive the message that playback has stopped. In that case, trying to play a movie or TV show again will result in an additional Netflix stream, which counts against your stream limit.​

Solution: The error message will go away on its own, but it may take up to 2 hours.