Netflix says account is already in use

If you see any of the following messages:

Your Netflix account is in use on another device.
Too many people are using your account right now.
Your Netflix account is in use on too many devices.

Follow the troubleshooting steps below.

Stop streaming on other devices

If you share your Netflix account with other people, they may be using Netflix at the same time you're trying to watch. The number of people who can stream at the same time depends on your Netflix plan.

To solve this problem, make sure that no one else is using your account before trying to watch again.

If you don't know which other device was streaming, check your Viewing Activity. If you see anything you don't recognize, see how to stop someone from using your account.

If you continue to get the error

Sometimes the Netflix app thinks it's still playing something even though it's not.

To solve this problem, try again later. The error message will go away on its own, but it may take up 2 hours.