Netflix says my account is already in use when I try to watch.

If you see any of the following messages:

Your Netflix account is in use on another device.
Too many people are using your account right now.
Your Netflix account is in use on too many devices.

Your Netflix account has reached the limit of active streams. Follow the troubleshooting steps below to resolve the issue.

Stop streaming on other devices

If you've shared your Netflix account with friends or family, they may be using Netflix while you're trying to watch a movie or TV show. The number of users that can stream at the same time will depend on your Netflix plan. You can see the limit for your account, as well as other plan options, from the Change Plan page.

To solve this problem, make sure that no one else is using your account before trying to stream again.

If you're not sure what other device was streaming, check your recent Viewing Activity. If you see anything you don't recognize, follow our steps in Someone is using my Netflix account without my permission.

If you continue to get the error after other devices have stopped streaming, the issue will resolve itself soon

Sometimes the Netflix app thinks it's still playing something even though it's not.

To solve this problem, try again later. The error message will go away on its own, but it may take up 2 hours.