Deletion, removal and retention of information

Refer to the appropriate section below for instructions on how to remove information associated with your account.

Account Deletion

We hate to see you go, but if you need to cancel your membership, visit netflix.com/cancelplan.

It is our standard practice to automatically delete Netflix accounts 10 months after the membership has been cancelled.

To request the earlier deletion of your cancelled Netflix account, please contact privacy@netflix.com from the email address associated with the account. (Note: including the email address in the body of a request sent from a different email address (including an email alias) does not suffice for these purposes.)

If you wish to have your Netflix account deleted and you are a:

Current Netflix member

  • Cancel your membership by visiting netflix.com/cancelplan.

    Note:
    If you are being billed through a third party and not directly through Netflix, you need to contact them to cancel your Netflix membership. We can only delete your account once your membership cancellation through the third party takes effect at the end of your current billing period. You can find that date by visiting the Billing Details page.
  • After cancelling, please contact privacy@netflix.com from the email address associated with the account to request deletion of your Netflix account.

    Note:
    Including the email address in the body of a request sent from a different email address (including an email alias) does not suffice for these purposes.
  • If you cancel your membership before your current billing period expires, we will delete your account at the end of the period, unless you expressly request earlier deletion.

Former Netflix member

It is our standard practice to automatically delete Netflix accounts 10 months after the membership has been cancelled. As a former member, you can request earlier deletion as follows:

  • Please contact privacy@netflix.com from the email address associated with the account to request the deletion of your Netflix account.

Customer who started but did not complete sign up

  • Please contact privacy@netflix.com to request that the information you entered during the sign-up process is deleted.

    Note:
    Including the email address in the body of a request sent from a different email address (including an email alias) does not suffice for these purposes.

Refer to the sections below for information about removing or deleting specific information on your account, and for information about our information retention practices.

Account profiles

To remove a profile from your account:

  1. Go to Manage Profiles in a web browser. You may need to sign in if you haven't already. 

  2. Select the edit icon on the profile you want to delete and select the Delete Profile button.

The main profile on your Netflix account cannot be removed. You can refer to information about how to hide viewing history.

Payment methods

Phone number

If you no longer wish to receive any text messages from us (including for password reset purposes), you may remove your phone number as follows:

  1. Sign in to your Account from a web or mobile browser.

  2. Select Change phone number from the Membership & Billing section.

  3. Select the Delete phone number button.

Email address

An email address is required on your Netflix account so that we may communicate with you regarding your membership.

If your email address is associated with a Netflix account that you did not create and you wish to have your email address removed from the account, please contact privacy@netflix.com for assistance.

Retention of Information

We retain limited non-personally identifying information following account deletion for lawful reasons, including for fraud prevention, accounting purposes, and enforcing our Terms of Use. This includes a device identifier, an email address associated with the account, and hashes of your payment details. “Hashing” means that we can “match” your payment method (or email) if it is reintroduced to our systems - but we cannot use the information to contact you or charge your payment method.

If you have removed a payment method, but have not deleted your account, we retain a hash of the payment details for the reasons stated above. If you change your email address, we retain a hash of the prior email address for security purposes to allow you to validate that it was previously associated with the account.

See our Privacy and Security help page for information on more topics.