How do profiles work on my Netflix account?

Profiles allow different members of your household to have their own personalized Netflix experience, built around the TV shows and movies they enjoy. You can have up to five individual profiles within a single Netflix account.

Note:
Profiles are not available on devices produced before 2013.

Each profile allows for its own:

  • Email (only profiles with All Maturity ratings)

  • Language preference

  • Personalized TV show and movie suggestions

  • Playback settings

  • Maturity level

  • My List*

  • Ratings*

  • Recently Watched list (not available on Kids profiles)

*Not available on Kids profiles on computers.

If you are using an older device that requires an activation code, you will not be able to create or switch profiles from the device. To ensure you can watch from your favorite profile, visit the Netflix website, select your favorite profile, and then activate the device on Netflix.com/Activate. If you later want to change profiles, you will have to sign out on your device and activate it again from your desired profile.

How do I create a profile?

Most devices allow you to create profiles. You can add up to five profiles to your account by selecting Manage Profiles from the menu in the Netflix app. Please note that each profile must have a different name. If you are unable to create a profile on your device, or are using Netflix on a web browser on your mobile device, visit the Netflix website on a computer and follow the steps above.

How do I delete or customize a profile?

Most devices allow you to delete profiles. You can delete or customize a profile by selecting Manage Profiles from the menu in the Netflix app and choosing the profile you want to change. You will then be taken to an Edit Profile screen where you can change the profile's name, select the profile's language or maturity level, or delete the profile entirely. If you are unable to create a profile on your device, or are using Netflix on a web browser on your mobile device, visit the Netflix website on a computer and follow the steps above.

Please note that once you delete a profile, the viewing history for that profile will no longer be available. More information on managing your viewing history can be found at How do I hide titles from my viewing history?

The main profile on your Netflix account cannot be deleted.

How do I set maturity rating limits on a profile?

Most devices allow you to set maturity rating limits on profiles. You can set maturity rating limits on individual profiles from Manage Profiles. You will need to select the profile you want to change, and then select your desired parental control setting from the Allowed TV shows and movies drop-down menu. If you are unable to create a profile on your device, or are using Netflix on a web browser on your mobile device, visit the Netflix website on a computer and follow the steps above.

You can also make a profile kid-friendly by selecting Kid? on the edit page of that profile.

Note:
Profiles are not password protected. You, the parent or guardian, will need to ensure your child uses only the correct profile. Please see How do I set parental controls on my Netflix account? for an overview of all parental control options.

Can a different email address be associated with each profile?

Yes. The first profile created is considered the primary profile and is associated with the email address on your Account.

You can add a different email address to any secondary profile with an All Maturity rating to receive personalized recommendations and other communications from Netflix. Email addresses associated with secondary profiles cannot be used to sign in to your Netflix account.

Follow these steps to add or change the email associated with a secondary profile:

  1. Sign in to your Account.

  2. Scroll to the My Profile section.

    • If an email has not been added, there will be a link to Add profile email.

    • If an email has been added, there will be a link to Change profile email beneath the profile name.

    Note:
    Members in Germany will need to confirm twice (double opt-in) to add or change an email.